Buffalo: A Brand New Day

Its been a long time since I last wrote on this site. Not that I ran out of good things to say about Buffalo, because that list is never-ending. In fact, its quite the opposite. The more I explored Buffalo’s history, the more overwhelmed I became with the amount of stories to tell. Do I stick with the historical buildings and their rich architectural designs? Or do I share recent developments that are beginning to transform my city in the last three years alone? Thrown into the mix was my desire to make this site more personable, sharing stories of real experiences I’ve had in Buffalo – like what its like to watch the sunset over Lake Erie and explore the markets along Elmwood on a beautiful Saturday morning. And those defining moments that really make Buffalo the City of Good Neighbors – not just during snowstorms when you need help shoveling out your driveway – but also in everyday life, like when a 92 year old World War II vet strikes up a 20 minute conversation with you in the produce section of a grocery store. All of this left me stuck. Not “stuck” like I had no where to go, but “stuck” like I could take this in so many different directions – like I could take this anywhere. I just didn’t know where to start. Or better yet, how to continue.

And then, inspiration hit.

This video was posted on Youtube yesterday by John Paget. Its the real story of Buffalo, the forever underdog city, summed up in 12 short minutes. Our historical triumphs and our not-so-long-forgotten mistakes. The restoration of buildings and the preservation of our history. The waterfront developments and rebirth of our city. All thanks to Buffalonians who’ve believed in this city from the start, even when others have turned their back on us for “bigger and better” things.

You can’t help but get excited after watching this video. Excited for Buffalo’s past, and what this city once was, and excited for Buffalo’s future, and all the good things that are to come.

People say they leave Buffalo because they want adventure. What they don’t realize is that all they had to do was look in their own backyard.

One response to “Buffalo: A Brand New Day

  1. Great job Katie,I will try to show more interest in this.Seems like there are things to be proud about in our own backyard.

Leave a Reply

